Music Ministries

Calling All Musicians!

If you would like to record a prelude or special music offering for our virtual worship service, contact our Dir. of Music Ministries Mary Ann Willow.

As we return to in-person worship, we are constantly adapting to new recommendations from healthcare professionals as well as best practices for the use of music (especially singing) in worship. In response to changing guidelines, we hope to be able to resume more of our regular musical ensembles and groups. Please contact us so that you can stay updated about future developments.

Instrumental Groups

Bell Choir for Children & Youth
This group is a great opportunity for kids in elementary and middle school to learn about music and teamwork. No experience needed! Contact Chelsea Dorman at Chelsea.dorman@gmail.com for more information.

Bell Choir (Adult)
Our fine adult bell choir helps to lead worship monthly at the 11am service and on Christmas Eve. High school students and adults welcome! Contact Mary Kautz mary.kautz@gmail.com or Marilyn Parr Marilyn_parr@comcast.net.

Vocal Groups

Children’s Choir
Children in grades K-6 are invited to join this group! Rehearsals are at 10:15am on Sundays. Contact Melissa Polito at nmpolito@comcast.net.

Women’s Ensemble
Women and teenage girls welcome! Rehearsals are twice a month and this group helps to lead worship at the 11am service about once a month. Contact Carole Whittam at carole.whittam@gmail.com.

Chancel Choir
The Chancel Choir sings at the 11 a.m. service every Sunday, September through May, as well as for special programs at Christmas and during Holy Week. The group rehearses in the sanctuary on Thursdays from 7:15 to 9:00 p.m., as well as Sundays at 10 a.m. Repertoire includes traditional, classical and contemporary choral music, spirituals, gospel music and world music. Contact Mary Ann Willow at mawillow@silverspringumc.org.

Praise Band

The praise band leads worship at the 9:30 service and engages the congregation in authentic, celebratory, participatory, and Christ-centered worship. The band meets on Sunday mornings at 8 a.m. to set up and rehearse for the service and also meets occasionally on weeknights or after the service to rehearse. Music selections include contemporary worship songs and traditional hymns. Contact Mayra Munoz at mayra.munoz10@gmail.com.